History of the Joylan Theatre
In 1930, Peter and Lena Bifarella sold their movie theatre in Attica, New York and moved with their family to Springville, where they had purchased the Pantheon Theatre from James Macris, Sr. It was located on the present site of the DonChelle Salon Spa. While renovating the Pantheon, a temporary theatre operation was set up in the present Concord Town Hall, known as Goddard Hall.
In 1946, the Bifarella’s purchased the Ulrich Hotel, one of Springville’s oldest landmarks. The hotel was demolished and construction of a modern movie theatre was started on the site in 1948.
On October 4, 1949, the theatre held it Grand Opening showcasing the ambiance of the Art Deco structure, from its glazed brown tile exterior; brightly lit marquee; the two adjacent store fronts to its lavish interior; including a wood paneled lobby; red leather upholstered seats; the curved arch curtained stage; the newest state-of-the-art sound equipment, air conditioning and a snack concession stand.
In 1964, the Bifarella’s retired after 36 years in the theatre business and relinquished ownership to daughter and son-in-law, Marion and Al Burns.
In 1982, the theatre was sold to Ken and Anita Killingbeck, who operated it until 1986, when they sold it to Leslie and Gladys Wienk. In 1989, the Wienks sold the business to Joe and Cheryl Russo. They operated it until 1995, when they sold it to the present owner, Ted and Debby Adams.
Considered one of the architectural gems in Springville, the theatre has gained the attention of historical enthusiasts who have designated it as a perfect example of art deco of the 1940 era.
Joylan Theatre 25th Anniversary